The Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries

Which book to start with?
Gyles Brandreth writes:

Oscar Wilde and the Murders at Reading Gaol is the sixth book in my series of Victorian murder mysteries featuring Oscar Wilde and his circle. Readers new to the series often ask: which one of the books should I start with?

The answer is: truly, it does not matter.

Each mystery stands alone.

Oscar Wilde and the Candlelight Murders - which has the title Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance in the US - is set in 1889 and begins with the first encounter between Oscar Wilde and Arthur Conan Doyle, but it does not need to be read first.

Oscar Wilde and the Dead Man’s Smile is set in the early 1880s, at the time of Oscar’s celebrated lecture tour of the United States and, later, when, for a while, he lived and worked in Paris.

Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders begins right back in 1877 when Oscar, as a student visiting Rome, had an audience with Pope Pius IX.

Oscar Wilde and the Nest of Vipers - known in the US as Oscar Wilde and the Vampire Murders - begins in the Spring of 1890 and features Wilde’s association with the Prince of Wales and Bram Stoker.

Oscar Wilde and the Ring of Death - the American title is Oscar Wilde and a Game Called Murder - is an adventure that takes place in 1892, at the time of Wilde’s great success with the play Lady Windermere’s Fan and introduces readers to Lord Alfred Douglas and his family.

Please read whichever of the stories comes most easily to hand.