The Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries

Dead Man's Smile

Dead Man's Smile

Book 3:

Oscar Wilde and Dead Man’s Smile (title in UK & USA)

Book Description | Reading Group Guide | Q & A with Gyles

Paris, 1883. Oscar Wilde, aged 27, has come to the city of decadence to discover its charms, to rekindle his friendship with the divine Sarah Bernhardt and to collaborate with France’s most celebrated actor-manager, Edmond La Grange.

As he throws himself into his work (and his pleasures), Oscar discovers dark secrets lying at the heart of the La Grange company – and is confronted by murders, both foul and bizarre. To solve the crimes, to unravel the mystery, Oscar risks his life – and his reputation – embarking on a dangerous adventure that takes him from bohemian night clubs to an asylum for the insane, from a duel in the Buttes de Chaumont to the gates of Reading Gaol.

This is the third in Gyles Brandreth’s acclaimed series of Victorian murder mysteries featuring Oscar Wilde and Arthur Conan Doyle.

‘Hugely enjoyable.’ Daily Mail

‘One of the most enjoyable crime series around.’ Scotsman

‘One of the best in the canon of literary mysteries.’ Philadelphia Inquirer

‘GeniusSunday Express

‘A first-class stunner’ Booklist

‘Genius’ Le Monde